# 2024 Teacher Recognitions - BOE Meeting 4/15/2024

# Hamilton County Educator Excellence Award

#### About the Award:

It is an opportunity to publicly honor the dedicated individuals who serve children in Hamilton County's public schools on a daily basis.

### Nominees should have the following qualities:

- Demonstrates a high commitment toward student achievement
- Has the ability to challenge students at all levels
- Is seen by others as genuine, authentic, and sincere
- Is a caring, thoughtful person who extends himself/herself to make a positive difference
- Shows understanding of others peers, parents, children, community, etc.
- Continues to improve personally and professionally
- Other positive characteristics that may be motivational, supportive, enthusiastic, creative, etc.

### **Building Nominees:**

- Jill Henderlight, HELC
- Ann Hammer, CE
- Evy Becker, MHE
- Jill Stedam, PRE
- Madeline Heckman, SE
- Caroline Seitz, TE
- Cathi Lee, CMS
- Meghan Detmering, PRMS
- Meghan Vigar, WOMS
- Kari Vaughn, CHS
- Ismael Tidjani, NWHS
- Deb Staubach, Transitions Academy

### District Nominee (we are only allowed to submit one nomination):

Meghan Detmering, PRMS

The celebration event will be held on Friday, May 3 from 8:00-10:00 a.m. at the Sharonville Convention Center.

# Martha Holden Jennings Teacher Excellence Awards

### About the Awards:

Awards are for public school elementary or secondary classroom teachers who have earned the respect of students and colleagues, remain intellectually alive, demonstrate leadership in their field, and serve as a model of excellence for the teaching profession.

Arthur S. Holden Teacher Award for Excellence in Science Education <u>District Nominee (we are only allowed to submit one nomination):</u>

Rachael May, WOMS

George B. Chapman, Jr. Teacher Award for Excellence in Mathematics Education

District Nominee (we are only allowed to submit one nomination):

• Kari Vaughn, CHS

Master Teacher Award

<u>District Nominee (we are only allowed to submit one nomination):</u>

Deb Staubach, Transitions Academy

George B. Milbourn Award for Excellence in Team Teaching District Nominee (we are only allowed to submit one nomination):

Brittany Leonard and Kerry Martini, CHS

Our nominees will be competing for these awards with teachers from across the State of Ohio. The \$7,500 award winners will be honored at our Educators Banquet on July 18th in Cleveland. Award monies are to be used for a project to benefit students in the recognized teacher's classroom, school or district.

## 2025 Ohio Teacher of the Year

### About the Award:

The Ohio Teacher of the Year candidate has the respect and admiration of their colleagues and.

### Nominees should have the following qualities:

- is an expert in their field who guides students of all backgrounds and abilities to achieve excellence
- collaborate with colleagues, students, and families to create a school culture of respect and awareness
- demonstrate leadership and innovation in and outside of the classroom walls
- embody lifelong learning
- express themself in an engaging and clear way

### Nominee:

• Stacy Koch, WOMS